Linux Mobile Devices [PinePhone]

Continuing the discussion from [Game]Anarch – Doom clone FPS:

1 Like

What have you been working on regarding the PinePhone? I thought it looked interesting, but I never got one. If you have one, what is using it like compared to an Android device?

Like the post I broke this from, I have been working with the Fedora Project to get that running on it. (Fedora Linux).

Overall it definitely feels more similar to working on another single board computer (like the raspberry pi) than it does a “phone”. Which, to me is good.

I’ve got two versions of the phone, and both I would not at all consider “consumer” ready for folks expecting it to work as a convenient replacement for Android or iPhones. It is seriously still in development :sweat_smile:
I have been using it as my daily driver for a few months, and it is the most inconvenient experience xD between poor battery life and currently my own goof with audio profiles. It is also tricky because Fedora works in an upstream policy, which means that downstream patches aren’t necessarily acceptable, and in the current state for Fedora not using a pulseaudio patch is a big bummer for calls. It works with some tweaking :man_shrugging:

Specifically to answer this, it is amazing. I compare it to my latest android Samsung S7 running android 8, in that regard it is really awesome, because compared to my android phone it actually gets updates. I can tweak everything just like on my desktop. I can run many of the same programs as on my desktop! The trick there is that many/most don’t have adaptive code so they don’t quite fit the screen nicely, however I do have a dock where the phone can run in docked mode so using regular apps like a desktop is not a problem :slight_smile:

4 Likes

If it does texts and calls, and has a phonebook, calculator and alarm then it already does everything I’d want from a phone.

1 Like

If it removes Java out of the equation, we already have like a 1000% improvement.