FM Synth with USB MIDI support

My USB MIDI experiments gradually evolved into a FM synthesizer. I’m not that familiar with synths in general, so let me know if there is something important missing or things don’t function as expected. Any ideas to improve the synth itself or the UI are welcome. I studied a few online FM synths and videos, and stole some of the most useful features from them, while trying to make the synth simple to use (for a FM synth) and not too computationally heavy. (@laamaa, here is the MIDI synth project I mentioned long time ago in another thread)

In FM synthesis the basic idea is to use one operator (=oscillator + amp envelope) to modulate the frequency of another operator. If the modulating frequency is less than 20 Hz you get vibrato, but in FM synthesis you use frequencies that are 0.5 to over 10 times the frequency of the note that is played. When the modulation frequency increases, the vibrato effect disappears, and completely new waveforms are created. Different instruments and sound effects can be made by tuning the frequency ratios and amplitudes of the modulating operators and varying their amplitudes over time with amplitude envelopes.

Features:

• 4 operators
  • 11 algorithms (=how operators are routed)
  • One master ADSR envelope and for each operator an ADS envelope with loop option
  • (+/-) feedback on operator 4
  • Pitch LFO for vibrato
  • 4 voice polyphony
  • 32 kHz samplerate (44 kHz was too much with 4 voices)
  • USB MIDI input supporting key velocity, pitch bend and sustain
  • Virtual piano keyboard

FMSynth.bin (111.5 KB)
Source code: https://github.com/jpfli/FMSynth

Source code for a version that works also on simulator: FMSynth-sim.zip (120.1 KB)