Bare metal from scratch, help? :)

I need a professional help… um, with bare metal Pokitto programming from scratch. Cause you know, one day I’d like to make my relaxed one file library without any proprietary code. But I’m a noob. I’ll dump my questions here and if someone knows answers, just randomly drop them here maybe :slight_smile:

So I have this:

• main.c: Program I’d like to compile that would init the HW and just e.g. draw a pixel on the screen. Once I have the option of outputting stuff, I think I can work it out from there.
  • link.ln: Linker script cause memory needs to be like LPC wants it.
  • a make script which really just does this:

(project now lives here)

arm-none-eabi-gcc -std=gnu99 -c -Wall -Wextra -fno-builtin -funsigned-char -fdata-sections -MMD -mcpu=cortex-m0plus -mthumb -o main.o main.c
arm-none-eabi-ld -Tlink.ld -o main.elf main.o
arm-none-eabi-objcopy -O binary main.elf main.bin

This works! Well at least the compilation. For reference I have:

Question: can I achieve what I want without any assembly? I’d like it to be in just one language: C. Looks like I can.

At the beginning of the memory is mapped the flash, mkay, I suppose the bin will be copied here AS IS, somewhere near the end of this section I am expecting to come over the loader.

I can see there is “main” RAM from 0x10000000 to 0x10008000… OK… but there is yet ANOTHER RAM at 0x20004000 to 0x20004800. Now I suppose this is the RAM we use for the stack? And the other one is for global variables etc.? I need to enable the clock for the “other RAM” so that it works? :neutral_face: