Writing Pokitto Games in pure C?

Hi guys,

I am very intersted in the pokitto for educational purposes. I am an ongoing IT teacher who would like
to make some small games for the pokitto in class. The programming language I want to teach will be C or C++, currently I am more interested in C since I am programming with it the last 1 1/2 years and I would like to dive more into it.

Arduino works with C and C++, I found a lot of articles how you can develop the Arduino Uno with pure C.
(e.g.: Programming Arduino Uno in pure C).
Now the tutorial section of pokitto (eg hello world example) is in C++ - how could I write the same programm for the pokitto with pure C? Can I change the C++ into C code (e.g. getting rid of classes like this method: how to use c objects in c).
I guess the pokitto.h library works also in C.

thanks for any help, didn’t find any information on this so I had to ask,
-eder

3 Likes

Hi

hmm… I would have to ask @FManga, @drummyfish and @Pharap for expert opinion on this.

Fmanga has made start-up files that can boot the pokitto without additional libraries, and drummyfish has made pokitto libre version so he knows what else there is to consider. Pharap on the other hand is the resident C / C++ standards afficionado.

Guys? Any comments on this?

1 Like

More C++ than C.

I haven’t read any of the C standard,
but I have read and quoted (parts of) the C++ standard a handful of times.
(If anyone has actually read the whole thing and understood it they deserve some sort of award,
that thing is verbosity personified. The C++14 version is ~1300 pages, the C++17 version is ~1400 pages.)

If you have the choice, I’d recommend going for C++11 (and later, i.e. C++11, C++14 or C++17).

Even if you don’t touch much on classes, the better type safety and feature set (constexpr variables, enum classes/scoped enumerations) is a big upgrade over C.