Why many projects are never finished?

What do you think is the reason why many Pokitto games or other projects are not finished? I know making a game is hard. Making a prototype or a small demo is fun and relatively easy, but extending that to a full game is a big effort. Even for a small game like Space Invaders or Pacman.

Can that be related to Pokitto environment also? Pokitto is quite a capable device compared to e.g. Arduboy. The game project gets bigger because there are more memory, screen resolution and colors. Do you think that a larger percentage of Arduboy games get actually finished than in Pokitto?

3 Likes

Well I was able to work on games way more easily on the Arduboy, mainly because there is many great tutorials and setting up the IDE was a breeze. Basic Arduino IDE just works. And to be honest I started coding directly using @FManga emu projectABE. So seeing what I am doing directly was nice.

The better hardware raises the bar, so games are more work. Also, I get the impression that the Arduboy community likes to keep projects under wraps until theyā€™re ready, while here people share from early on. Thereā€™s probably a lot of unfinished Arduboy games, you just donā€™t see them as much.

1 Like

I canā€™t argue that Arduino IDE is easy to set up, but if people actually used the PokittoSim, they could develop games way easier than Arduino IDE. When you can do the whole thing on the PC its just so so much faster. You can debug your code live, execute step by step and watch variables etc.

2 Likes

I use the simulator all the time, because developing is so easy. There are only a couple of areas that work differently on HW, like some functions in the SD Card API.

My problem is 100% down to my poor attention span. Once a project gets to the ā€˜it works enough to testā€™ I get bored with it :pensive:. I once looked at my DS homebrew projects to see if any were worth revisiting, I had 92 unfinished, some barely even started.