Pokitto and user friendliness

Ok @jonne first off I love pokitto and the promise it presents as a very cool little companion but I’m a Linux noob, seriously I tried to make a live usb sir an old MacBook a few years ago that failed to work and gave it up until end of summer 2016 when I got my Pocket CHiP and started playing with it almost daily (it figuratively lives in my pocket ) now I want a Pokitto so bad you wouldn’t believe it but what I want to ask for other noobs ,and believe me there will be a lot who see it think it’s super cute and neat and want one, how hard will it be to actually use it? Put games on it run them use the “OS” etcetera I know it has a sd slot which is great to store games but I just want to know if it’s going to be simple enough that someone like me can use it.
Thanks Rob.

Hi @BigBadHodad you have a good question here. If its OK for you I will answer in detail, and in parts that I can later use on Pokitto Wiki

Pokitto is easy to use, much easier than any linux device, but I need to educate you a bit on what you’re getting into :smile:

Is Pokitto easy for beginners?

Let me first explain what the Pokitto is and what it isn’t.

What IS the Pokitto?

Pokitto is two things put together: #1) its a simple game console #2) its an open-source platform on which you can learn programming and building your own electronics experiments

As a game console, Pokitto is very simple: there is no GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) inside the Pokitto, no special sound chip, etc. Its not going to run 3D games like you see on your mobile phone. Pokitto runs fun minigames and 2D graphics, thats what is intended for.