[Help!] What would you show/teach with Pokitto to shy 10-12 yr olds?

Hello everyone!

Today I visited a code school class with a dozen 10-12yr olds. I showed the Pokitto to them and I am due to hold a 1-hour class to them.

Observations:

1. all of them were quite shy. It seems they prefer to work alone instead of as a group
  2. even though they’ve had several classes this semester, they’re pretty beginners. They do Scratch and Python
  3. many of them were ‘stuck’ in doodling graphics with Scratch

Now, point #3.

I am wondering if Scratch really is the right way to start learning programming. Instead of grasping the concept of programming, many of them spent the hour fine-tuning their Scratch program background images. And this was their 6th lesson.

It was a sobering encounter. I didn’t realize this is the normal situation.

If you have any good ideas what I could teach to complete beginners, something that can be accomplished in 1 hour, and would be fun on a Pokitto then help me with your ideas!

I would not want to turn them to making graphics editing of any sort because that will be the entire hour gone. I would really like to teach some real concept of programming instead.

1 Like

I have seen many turning to scratch as a crutch more than a stepping block to more practical programming code.

Maybe it would be possible to fit in a number guessing game? And have the pokitto face for happy or sad on success or failure?

Yes, I was thinking about that also. But since there is no number keys, its kind of hard.

I am about to start teaching kids about this age programming in Snap (similar to Scratch) sometime this month. I have some very basic games ready. Some of the simplest that could be made within an hour (that’s really too little time for anything more complex than really trivial though):

Then I also have an aquarium and a rallye game, but that’s most likely too much for one hour lesson.

2 Likes