A game idea and question

I am no programmer I can think of some ideas for them though, and I don’t even know if this is possible But, an adventure game kinda like Zelda link to the past, but with a gimmick kinda like the stone of agony. You play normally for a bit like till the first dungeon then after you find an item called perhaps the spear of light you are instructed to insert an led into the header and when you’re near treasure or a boss or a clue to a puzzle the led blinks.

So is this possible?

1 Like

It’s very possible, it should be very easy for anyone with just a little programming experience. In fact, switching an LED on and off is the first Arduino tutorial you will find. I know we aren’t Arduino here, but the same principle applies.
If you have a Pokitto, then just jump right in, there are instructions on the forum here for setting up the software you need to get started.

We would all be old and dead by the time I finished programming any game Lol

Hahahaha! Believe me, its not that difficult!

3 Likes

I would like to agree. I think that the technical part is quite straight forward, it’s only the motivation part that trips me up, I have a folder with about 95 nintendo ds homebrew projects that didn’t even get half way :stuck_out_tongue:

3 Likes

Start with something simple.
Like noughts and crosses, or rock-paper-scissors.

If you get stuck, there’s a rumour that there’s this benevolent disembodied skull on the forum who likes to explain C++ things to people. :P

My main problem (apart from motivation) is that there are so many cool projects that I end up with 100 projects 1% complete instead of 1 project 100% complete.

Sometimes I manage to 100% complete something if I don’t bother to design it properly.
E.g. earlier in the week I threw together an IPS patcher to apply a translation patch to a ROM.

2 Likes