[WIP] Arduboy2 Implementation Overhaul

Background

A few weeks ago I asked about whether people would be interested in a port of one of my Arduboy games, Minesweeper.
A lot of people were, so I started to attempt the port,
but I soon discovered that the implementation of the Arduboy2 library was somewhat outdated and missing a few features.

It was a real shame.
If only I was an experienced C++ programmer who knew a thing or two about the Arduboy2 library…
Oh, wait a minute :P

So I decided to fix the library.
But instead of just fixing the existing one, I decided to go one better…

The Overhaul

So for the last week or two I’ve been reimplementing the Arduboy2 library for Pokitto (on and off) from scratch, without looking at the existing implementation.
And on top of that, I’ve been implementing just slightly more than the minimal amount of avr-libc and Arduino that are necessary to get Arduboy2 working.

It’s taken me some time because I wanted to clean the Arduboy2 library up a bit first, and I’m trying to keep the history as tidy as I can so it can serve as a form of documentation to whoever might have to maintain it after me.

(Though I have made the occaisional mistake - in the worst case I had to scrap a PR because I gave the commit the wrong summary. Nobody’s perfect. :P)

Status

It’s not yet ready but I’m making progress.
There’s still a long list of bugs, but I’m gradually fixing them.

Currently all button functionality works and rendering works.

Unfortunately everything seems to be running slowly.
I don’t know if that’s because Arduboy2 code uses std::uint8_t everywhere and the Pokitto’s processor needs extra instructions to handle those, or if my screen buffer drawing routine is too slow, or if there’s some bug somewhere else.

Implementation Details

(A.k.a the geeky/cool bits)

For the rendering, I’ve done something that I hope is quite clever.