Sound improvements - test yourself

Ok, so I am overhauling the sound library.

What I am doing is I am making it faster & I have improved the resolution of the frequency counters to a whopping 32 bits. This means frequencies are mostly +/- 0.0001 accurate.

32-bit counter means the jitter and the fuzz is gone from the sound.

I am also adding a switch that allows you to decide what is the max sampling frequency you want to use in your game.

But heres this nights work, you can try it out yourself

syntest.bin (40.7 KB)

5 Likes

I’m by no means a sound expert. I have loaded this and compared it to a previous build of the synth test. From what I can tell the actual frequency seems more accurate compared to the old build. In the old one, certain notes would get washed out and almost muted. This seems to more accurately cover the spectrum.

Its a bit of a long story. The synth functions are a carryover from my 8-bit library for the AtMega328. Instead of calculating new frequency tables when launching the Pokitto, I just “multiplied” the tables by 4… I know, I know. Horrible.

Now I recalculated the frequency tables at 32 bits and verified the frequencies with an oscilloscope.

Tomorrow I will look at two other things that will further improve sound, namely:

1. sound buffering (it is completely real time now which is kind of not good)
  2. transfering that buffer with DMA, thus unloading that from the cpu
6 Likes

Almost done with the DMA. Unfortunately it will not help as much as I thought.

But digging deep into the mbed internals I have found several things that are eating our MCU cycles in a devious way. One of these things is the Ticker class used to fire the sound interrupts at the moment.

The Ticker class allows you “to create any number of timer driven interrupts in a hardware abstracted way” … sounds too good? It is. A function loops compares timestamps and goes through a list of attached function pointers … on every cycle…

4 Likes