[Request] Castleboy Port (Castlevania clone on Arduboy)

Hello everyone,

I reached out to the creator of Castleboy, one of the best games on the Arduboy (in my opinion), and he was excited with the idea of it being ported to the Pokitto.

@jonne advised posting this here to give it some attention. He also said he could chip in to port it. He mentioned that it wouldn’t take much time total (maybe 2-4 hours)

Would anyone want to take on this port?

My idea would be to simply port the black/white version at first.

The next step, if interested, would be to add color to it. Here is a mock-up of what Joel (the original creator) had in mind.

Some questions on porting this are:

1. Could you stretch it to fill the screen?
  2. Could you switch the buttons around for jump/slash.

One big detail I forgot to mention is that I have no coding/programming experience. Someone would need to take the lead.

Here is the github of the source material:

5 Likes

I am in the team. This is a good project idea. But I can only contribute so much. I hope some other coder also joins.

I am interested because we can test the whole porting procedure and streamline the process.

1 Like

To get the core code running in black and white. Making the graphics was not counted.

1 Like

@TokyoBatman you could start building the sprite sheets for this in color. We will use @spinal’ s 256 color mode for this (110 x 88 x 256colors) and make it look really nice.

Just use any pixel program that allows you to draw in 256 color mode. Most of them do.

2 Likes

@Pharap did mention that you couldn’t use the arduboy 2 library with color.

Considering that, if the core black and white could be done rather quickly with the arduboy 2 library. That would be the best route for starters.

@jonne is that what you’re thinking too? The game kind of stands on its own without color

Not true. You can. I have already implemented a solution for this on Gamebuino (classic) games, you can see it on Crabator.