Interpreted language (esp32 specific)

im working on a a couple of projects (rpg, esp32) and looking at the python thing
and im wondering if it might be better/easier to write a custom interpreted language

main ideas are:

• compact, as light as it can go
  • dynamic loading and unloading of chunks
  • extendible with custom function calls

this that im not sure about but may be necessary:

• stack based
  • limited types (8bit int/char, 16bit floats, 256 sized arrays)

im not an expert on this, im badicly thinking of interpreted bytecode thats general purpose
im not sure how many instructions i would need for this but basic aritmetic loading chunks of sd card and saving to sd card seem essential

1 Like

Have you tried getting Lua going?

It woulsn’t support dynamic loading without modification, but it’s extensible and has a very simple bytecode and language.

Have a read of “A No-Frills Introduction to Lua 5.1 VM Instructions”:

ANoFrillsIntroToLua51VMInstructions.pdf (218.7 KB)

Even if it doesn’t sell you on Lua, it’ll give you an insight into how an existing VM works in terms of bytecode.

Have you found a library for that?
The typical floating point format is very confusing.

That’s potentially very wasteful.
You’d be better off with length-prefixed/length-tracked arrays instead.

Stack based is easier for code generation but can get tricky if there’s a lot of variables to manipulate.

Perhaps a hybrid - a stack with a limited number of local variables?

The big question is: static typing or dynamic typing?

i wish i could use lua, but elua has no suport for m0+ chips due to memory concerns and in personal experiments compiled lua is rather large wich bites any use out of it

lua and python probebly aswel are going to have a hard time on mode15 games where the buffer is holding a massive chunk of memory

have not looked into floats yet, and im not super sure how needed they are, if i could trow them out and just run on 8 bit integers it optimises allot