Game making tutorial request

Hi, if been fooling around trying to make a simple game for Pokkito. But i have some trouble piecing it al together.
I have some experience in programming in vb 6, but i have very litle knowledge about C++.

Thing is, if i would like to make a game for pokitto i have barely no examples. It would really help if some of the more excperienced programmers could make a simple game to show the basics.

things i ran into :

• start program, show titlescreen and press A to start. How is this setup ? within the Main ?
  • pacing parts, like a bullet. I made a topic about setting a pace and i did get help(thanks @Pharap) but did not manage to make it work. shouldnt Pokitto already have a timer /pacer function ? since it is intended as a game device (mostly)
  • Drawing bitmaps on screen, i made a program that displayed 2 bitmaps (background and player)but i always could only see 1 (background). well, apperntly i should draw the background first en then the player on top of that. i did not know that, so it took me about an hour before i got that figured out.
  • where do i place the buttons to be read out correctly ? and why are there 2 types of ways to read the buttons ? (found different ways in other games)

I really apriciate the tutorial that are made so far, but it would be nice to have a simple example game. It should show how to setup the routines for checking/moving/etc. and alot of comments to explain what is going on.

Would it be possible to make and show a simple game as example ? I already looked at the games already availble but they are all different.

3 Likes

Good questions. We will get back to this, I promise

3 Likes

I understand where you are coming from and I have no doubt the these sort of tutorials are being thought about by some of the more experienced coders here, not just those who will want them to learn from.