Game dev question

Hey guys,

I recently bought a Pokitto and love it. There’s a fun game that I’d love to make for the Pokitto, but since I’m new to the Pokitto and Micro Python in general, I was wondering if you could help answer some questions I have.

I’m interested in using the Online MBED editor found at https://pyinsky.herokuapp.com/ as it makes it easy for me to code wherever I am, however I’m not sure of its limitations…

My questions are:

1. Do I need to learn Micro Python elsewhere first to know how to use it in this IDE as the IDE has zero documentation from what I can tell…
  2. What/where can I find documentation on how to do things like change the screen mode (in particular) for the Pokitto using the IDE?
  3. What’s the (sd) disc space and ram/memory space for games and how will I know if I run out?

I’m going to look around on Youtube and elsewhere to get more familiar with Micro Python in the meantime, but thought I’d ask these questions above anyway!

For a bit of background, I am an indie game dev on the side and have made several games before on other systems along with a good mate of mine, so I’m pretty familiar on how to build games. I just need guidance on the machine’s limitations really.

Thanks in advance guys!

Regards,
Jaco

2 Likes

In the bottom right if the pyinsky editor there are a few different tabs you can switch to. One of them being ‘help’ with links to
good documentation

There are also some topics here in the forums with amazing documentation and such, and can be found pretty quickly with the search button in the top right.

Welcome to the Pokitto community! Awesome to have more members :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,

Online Python Editor is different from Online MBed environment. The latter is ment for C++ coding. Python Editor is by far the easiest way to make games for Pokitto, but if you know C++, that is much more versatile and powerful. .C++ is the “native” language of Pokitto.