[Discuss] Universal Multi-Player Link Cable

Alright, there have been a few threads that have died out, so I’m hoping this won’t.

Let’s discuss what’s the bare minimum to develop a multi-player link cable. From my understanding, we just need 3 wires, but I’m still a noob when it comes to this stuff.

Outside of those wires, we’ll need some kind of function in the Pokitto library to send and receive data. It would be nice to have a simply library that could wrap those functions as well as offer a hand-shaking solution.

To recap, we need to get these things to get multiplayer games:
• Cable
• Data exchange library
• Cool Example Game

I’m willing to help work on some of this stuff, but I’d need some more guidance and input from everyone else.

5 Likes

IR tranceiver was the second most popular ‘hat’ in the poll back along.

So it’ll probably be IR. Dunno what IR libraries are available or how good the timing is on IR. It was good enough for tamagotchi way backwhen though.

If it were a cable, what sort of protocol were you thinking?
It would need a clock line and some error correction (maybe a parity bit or something).

To be honest though, unless someone (or a group of people) want to work on this individually, at the moment I think this sort of thing would be a better goal for a few months down the line. I think getting the tutorials and shop up are more important at the minute, as well as solving the EEPROM vs SD issue.

I’m still happy to speculate though.

Also if you want to look at what it’s like to use the PEX, I’ll be working on the drafts of the tutorials for it.
Really though, since you’re already an experience programmer, you just have to look at the docs here:

https://docs.mbed.com/docs/mbed-os-api/en/mbed-os-5.5/api/namespacembed.html

DigitalOut is a 1/0 output pin, DigitalIn and DigitalOut are obvious, as should be AnalogIn and AnalogOut.
I haven’t gone through the rest myself, but things like CircularBuffer, I2C and SPI you probably recognise.